Academic awards for OU

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced that 13 Big 12 football student-athletes were selected as members of the 2016 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.

Ty Darlington (Oklahoma) was selected after the conclusion of the 2015 season as the William V. Campbell Trophy recipient, which recognizes the individual as the best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.

Spencer Drango (Baylor) joined Darlington as an NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

The society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 868 players from 275 schools qualified for membership as the society celebrates its 10th year, setting a record for the number of players honored in the history of the program. Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one’s last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Big 12  Honor Society Members

Ty Darlington, Oklahoma

Nick Hodgson, Oklahoma

Trevor Clemons-Valdez, Baylor

Spencer Drango, Baylor

Blake Muir, Baylor

Daniel Burton, Iowa State

Jack Cantele, Kansas State

Glenn Gronkowski, Kansas State.

Luke Hayes, Kansas State

Standon Weber, Kansas State

Buck Jones, TCU

Jaden Oberkrom, TCU

John Depalma, West Virginia