Buddy Hield on award list

Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield and two other Big 12 basketball players are finalists for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award.

The honor is presented annually to those who excel both on and off the court. Georges Niang (Iowa State) and Perry Ellis (Kansas) plus Hield (Oklahoma) give the Big 12 more representatives than any conference in the nation.

To be eligible for the award, athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Final Four.

Hield, Ellis and Niang are also on the midseason list for the annual Naismith Trophy from the Atlanta Tipoff Club

Monte Morris of Iowa State and Wayne Selden of Kansas are part of that group.

Senior CLASS Award

Men’s Basketball Finalists

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

Justin Sears, Yale

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga