Tulsa promotes Bloesch


Tulsa coach Philip Montgomery has promoted that Mike Bloesch to offensive line coach for the Golden Hurricane. Two TU coaches, co-offensive coordinators Sterlin Gilbert and Matt Mattox have accepted coaching positions at The University of Texas. Gilbert coached Tulsa quarterbacks and Mattox the offensive line. Tulsa is preparing to play Virginia Tech in the Independence […]

OU OC Lincoln Riley is the top assistant coach of the year


Oklahoma offensive coordinator Lincoln Riley, the architect of No. 4 OU’s offense rise this season, was named the 2015 Broyles Award winner as the nation’s top assistant coach. Riley was honored during a luncheon in Little Rock, Ark., that included fellow finalists Kirby Smart (Alabama), Kendal Briles (Baylor), Brent Venables (Clemson) and Gene Chizik (North […]

Darlington wins Wuerffel Trophy


Oklahoma center Ty Darlington is the winner of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy. The award was announced by Danny Wuerffel at the National Football Foundation’s Press Conference at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York. The All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Florida, presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best […]

Power 5 foes mandated in Big 12


The Big 12 has announced it will require conference football programs to annually play at least one nonconference game against a  “power five” conference institution (ACC, Big Ten, Pac-12 and SEC) or Notre Dame). “Schedule strength is a key component in CFP Selection Committee deliberations,” said Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. “This move will strengthen the resumes […]

Mayfield wins Burlsworth Trophy


Oklahoma junior quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the winner of the Burlsworth Trophy, given annually since 2010 to college football’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on. Mayfield, who was joined by Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib and Washington State quarterback Luke Falk as finalists for the award, has guided the […]

Stoops a finalist for coach of the year


  Oklahoma football coach Bob Stoops was named as one of eight finalists for the 2015 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America. Joining Stoops as finalists for the award are Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, Houston’s Tom Herman, Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio, Notre Dame’s […]

TU’s Garrett a AAC first team pick


The University of Tulsa senior receiver Keyarris Garrett was a unanimous selection to the American Athletic Conference first team as voted on by the league’s coaches. In addition, Golden Hurricane senior safety Michael Mudoh and junior linebacker Trent Martin earned honorable mention all-conference accolades. Garrett, from Daingerfield High School in Daingerfield, Texas, leads the nation […]

It’s an Oklahoma-Clemson rematch in the Orange Bowl


To advance to the national championship, Oklahoma must defeat the No. 1 team in the nation – a team that humiliated the Sooners 40-6 last season. No. 4 Oklahoma will face No. 1 Clemson in the 2015 College Football Playoff (CFP) Semifinal at the Orange Bowl on December 31 at Sun Life Stadium in Miami […]

It’s OSU vs. Ole Miss (thanks to Texas upset)


With Baylor down to their fourth string quarterback, the Bear got knocked out of the Sugar Bowl with a loss to 5-7 Texas. The BU loss was Oklahoma State’s gain. The Cowboys, who tied TCU for second place in the Big 12, have been invited to play in the Sugar Bowl. The Sugar Bowl normally […]

Montgomery will face a legend in Independence Bowl


First-year coach Philip Montgomery is taking his Tulsa team to a bowl game against a coaching legend. Tulsa (6-6) will face Virginia Tech (6-6) in the Independence Bowl in Shreveport, Louisiana, at 4:45 p.m. on December 26. Tickets are available at or by calling 918-631-4688. Tulsa (6-6) enters the Independence Bowl Game with one […]