Conservative group honors OKWU’s Dr. Everett Piper

The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) and The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced that the Jeane Jordan Kirkpatrick Award for Academic Freedom will be presented to Oklahoma Wesleyan’s president, Dr. Everett Piper.

“In a time when university administrators are giving in…Everett Piper stands out for his adherence to the tradition of academic integrity and open inquiry” said Michael W. Grebe, president of the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation.

The distinguished award was made at the 2016 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) Ronald Reagan Banquet on March 4 in Washington, D.C. The prize honors the memory of Kirkpatrick, former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations.

“Aside from being honored personally, it’s very gratifying to have others acknowledge and affirm the intellectual freedom that is found uniquely in the Judeo-Christian ethic and Biblical worldview,” said Piper. “This is just one more bit of evidence that the pursuit of truth sets us free.”

Piper received a B.A. from Spring Arbor University, a M.A. from Bowling Green State University, and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University. He has served as OKWU’s president since August of 2002 and is active in the Wesleyan church and Bartlesville community and is an advocate for cultural change from a Christian worldview. For more information, visit