Dewey Bartlett’s brother-in-law files against Rep. Jim Bridenstine

U.S. Rep. Jim Bridenstine drew three opponents last week – including Mayor Dewey Bartlett’s brother-in-law.

Bridenstine, one of the most conservative congressmen in the nation, will face fellow Republicans Tom Atkinson (Bartlett’s brother-in-law) and perennial candidate Evelyn Rogers. Independent David Matthew Hullum also filed for the First District race.

No Democrats filed against Bridenstine. When first elected, Bridenstine pledged to serve only three terms in the House.

“Four years ago I filed to run for Congress for the first time, promising the people of the First District that I would work every day to restore Constitutional integrity, fiscal responsibility, and national security,” Bridenstine said. “I filed as a candidate for a third and final term in the U.S. House of Representatives, and my promise to the people of Oklahoma remains unchanged.”

Atkinson, a moderate, is at odds with his brother-in-law and is active in the campaign of City Councilor G.T. Bynum, who is running against Bartlett.

U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin could face a stiff challenge with fellow Republican Jarrin Jackson of Claremore. Two Democrats, Paul E. Schiefelbein and Joshua Harris, both of Tahlequah, also filed against Mullin.

U.S. Sen. James Lankford, who won a special election to fill the unexpired term of former Sen. Tom Coburn, filed for a full term. He will face Democrats Steve Perry and Mike Wortman plus Libertarian Dax Ewbank and Independent Sean Braddy.

In the race for State Corporation Commission, Commissioner Dana Murphy faces Democrat Richard Morrissette, who is a state representative.

In the Tulsa metro area, there will be State Senate races in Districts 11, 25, 33, 35, 37 and 39. Districts 25 and 39 are open because Senator Mike Mazzei (25) and Sen. Brian Crain (39) are term limited.

In District 25, Republicans Joe Newhouse of Broken Arrow, Bob Jack of Broken Arrow, Craig Murray of Jenks and Lisa Kramer of Bixby filed along with Broken Arrow Democrats Randal E. Burris and Kimberly Fobbs.

In Senate District 39, four Republicans – Amanda Teegarden, Rick Poplin, Dave Rader and Alan Staab – filed. Teegarden is the former executive director of OK-SAFE and Rader is the former head football coach at The University of Tulsa. Democrat John Waldron was the lone Democrat to file.

Incumbent Tulsa senators Gary Stanislawski and Dan Newberry drew opponents as did Broken Arrow Sen. Nathan Dahm.

Two Tulsa area state representatives, Republican Glen Mulready in District 68 and Democrat Eric Proctor in District 71, did not draw opponents and were re-elected.

District 67 was an open seat due to Rep. Pam Peterson being term limited. Three Republicans – Tom McCloud, John T. Croisant and Scott McEachin – filed along with Democrat Lori Decter Wright and Libertarian Zac Davis. McCloud is the publisher of Community Spirit, a Christian magazine, and McEachin is a local attorney.

In Owasso in District 74, Rep. David Derby chose not to run again and his father, Dale Derby filed. Both are Republicans.