Donald J. Trump Wins

Lankford wins Senate race; Sales tax increase defeated

Republican businessman Donald Trump beat Democrat Hillary Clinton in the race for the presidency on November 8 despite polling by the liberal media that showed Trump destined to lose.

On Wednesday, Trump had collected 277 electoral votes – 7 more than what was needed to win. Clinton had 22 electoral votes. As predicted, Trump easily won Oklahoma. Every presidential Republican candidate since 1964 has won Oklahoma and that trend continued Tuesday.

Trump had a clean sweep of the South (except for Virginia) and carried most of the states in the middle of the nation, including Wisconsin. Trump won hotly contested Floride, Pennsylvania, Ohio and North Carolina. Trump won Utah despite the presence of a conservative Independent candidate.

Clinton won New York, California, Illinois, Colorado, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington and several New England state.

U.S. Sen. James Lankford, R-Oklahoma on Tuesday won his first full term, beating four opponents – Democrat (Mike Workman), Libertarian (Robert T. Murphy) and two Independents (Sean Braddy and Mark T. Beard).

U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin, R-Oklahoma, won his race in the Second District over Democrat Joshua Harris-Till and Independent John McCarthy. U.S. Rep. Frank Lucas, R-Oklahoma, was also an easy winner.

In the Oklahoma Senate races in Tulsa, Republican Joe Newhouse beat Democrat Robert Founds in an open seat in District 25.  Incumbent Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow, beat Democrat Kimberly Fobbs in Senate District 33. In Senate District 34, Sen. Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa, beat Libertarian Frank Grove. In Senate District 37, Sen. Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa, edged Democrat Lloyd Snow. Republican Dave Rader’s defeated Democrat John Waldron in Senate District 39, an open seat.

Winners in House races in Tulsa were Rep. Terry O’Donnell (District 23); Scott McEachin (District 67); Chuck Strohm (District 69); Carol Bush (District 70); Katie Henke (District 71); Regina Goodwin (District 73); Dale Derby (District 74); Rep. David Brumbaugh (District 76); Weldon Watson (District 79); and Mike Ritze (District 80).  Rep. Jadine Nollan defeated Democrat Dianna Phillips in District 66.  Rep. Dan Kirby beat Karen Gaddis in District 75.

In District 78, Molly McKay was in a tight race with Meloyde Blancett that was too close to call.

All state judges from the Oklahoma Supreme Court; the Court of Civil Appeals and the Court of Civil Appeals won retention votes.

State Question 776 (death penalty) passed; State Question 777 (right to farm) failed; State Question 779 (sales tax increase) failed; State Question 780 (drug charges to misdemeanors) passed; State Questions 781 (community safety fund) passed; State Question 790 (repeal of the Blaine Amendment) failed; and State Question 792 (liberalizing liquor laws) passed.

In Tulsa City Council races, Jeannie Cue beat Aaron Bisogno in District 2 and Ben Kimbro beat Eric McCray in District 9. The District 1 race between Councilor Jack Henderson and Vanessa Hall-Harper was too close to call.

In Tulsa County, Commissioner Karen Keith won in District 2. Donald Newberry won the race for Tulsa County court clerk and Sheriff Vic Regalado was re-elected.