Evans makes USA cut

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Future Oklahoma State guard Jawun Evans was one of 12 players named to the final U19 USA Basketball roster, which will make him the third Cowboy to compete for gold at the FIBA World Championships.

Evans joins Matt Clark and Marcus Smart as OSU players to represent the United States at the U19 world championships. Clark won gold with USA Basketball in Salvador, Brazil in 1979, while Smart paved the way for the 2013 squad to win the world championship in Prague, Czech Republic.

“This has been an unbelievable experience, and I couldn’t be more excited to represent my country and Oklahoma State on the international stage,” Evans said. “Playing with and against such great competition will only help me learn how to take my game to another level for when I get back to OSU.”

The USA has captured a record five FIBA U19 World Championship gold medals and three silver medals in the 11 editions of the event, which first was held in 1979. The team is seeking its first back-to-back FIBA U19 World Championships since 1979 and 1983. This year’s championships will take place in Crete, Greece. The United States has drawn preliminary round Group A and will play Iran on June 27, Croatia on June 28 and Egypt on June 30. All 16 teams advance to the round of 16 that will be played on July 1. The winners advance to the medal-round quarterfinals on July 3, while the round of 16 losers will compete out for 9th-16th places. The semifinals are on July 4, and the finals are on July 5.

“We have a lot of versatility in our lineup, we have players that can play more than one position and I think playing pressure basketball like we want to play defensively and offensively, that we have the depth, athleticism and quickness, and also some shooting that will really allow us to play a style that we can be successful at,” said USA Basketball and Arizona head coach Sean Miller.

This year’s U19 USA Basketball squad will be led by Miller of the University of Arizona, along with his brother, Archie Miller (Dayton), and Ed Cooley (Providence).