Growing list of lawmakers oppose Fallin’s tax increases

Opposition continues to grow in the State Capitol over Gov. Mary Fallin’s proposed $1.7 billion sales tax expansion, with 13 legislators adding their names in opposition. Twenty seven legislators are now publicly on the record against the Fallin $1,700,000,000.00 sales tax hike.

In her State of the State address, Fallin presented a plan that would tax 164 different categories of services provided by Oklahoma small businesses and entrepreneurs.

“We have been elected to represent our constituents and make the hard choices necessary to run state government. Their voice is loud and clear: no new taxes,” said Rep. George Faught, R-Muskogee. “I’m proud to stand with my fellow legislators in the fight to protect Oklahomans from higher taxes.”

“This would be the largest tax increase in Oklahoma since at least 1985,” said Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant. “Expanding or raising the sales tax is absolutely the wrong idea.”

“Oklahoma voters have already said that they don’t want more sales taxes,” said Sen. Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair.

Citing their fundamental disagreements with Gov. Fallin’s proposed tax hike, the following conservative legislators pledged to stop this tax increase from becoming law:

Rep. John Bennett, R-Sallisaw; Rep. David Brumbaugh, R-Broken Arrow; Rep. Kevin Calvey, R-Oklahoma City; Rep. Bobby Cleveland, R-Slaughterville; Rep. George Faught, R-Muskogee; Rep. Kevin McDugle, R-Broken Arrow; Rep. Lewis Moore, R-Edmond; Rep. Mike Ritze, R-Broken Arrow; Rep. Chuck Strohm, R-Jenks; Rep. Rande Worthen, R-Lawton; Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant; Rep. Scott McEachin, R-Tulsa; Rep. John Enns, R-Enid; Rep. Dale Derby, R- Owasso; Rep. Casey Murdock, R-Felt; Rep. Scooter Park, R-Devol; Rep. Jeff Coody, R-Grandfield; Sen. Mark Allen, R-Spiro; Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow; Sen. James Leewright, R-Bristow; Sen. Marty Quinn, R-Claremore; Sen. Anthony Sykes, R-Moore; Sen. Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair; Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville; Sen. Bill Brown, R-Broken Arrow; Sen. Ralph Shortey, R-Oklahoma City; Sen. Joseph Silk, R-Broken Bow.