Leadership appointments

Oklahoma House Speaker Charles A. McCall announced additional leadership appointments to serve during the 56th Legislature, naming assistant floor leaders and assistant whips.

“I have a great amount of faith and confidence in these members to help House Republicans carry out the agenda for the next two years,” said McCall, R-Atoka. “These members are capable and well respected by the House, and I know they are committed to helping us push forward a conservative, free-market agenda with the goal of making all Oklahomans more prosperous.”

McCall named state Representatives Mark McBride, R-Moore; Scott Biggs, R-Chickasha; Chris Kannady.R-Oklahoma City; and Mark Lepak, R-Claremore, as assistant floor leaders. Those members will be assisting state Representatives Katie Henke, R-Tulsa, and Glen Mulready, R-Tulsa, who were previously appointed, with the day-to-day activities of running the House floor. Earlier, Speaker McCall appointed state Rep. Jon Echols, R-Oklahoma City, to serve as majority floor leader, a position responsible for reviewing legislation, determining which bills will be heard on the House floor and running the day-to-day floor activity.

McCall also named state Representatives Randy McDaniel, R-Oklahoma City; Lewis Moore, R-Arcadia; Jadine Nollan, R-Sand Springs; Elise Hall, R-Oklahoma City; Dustin Roberts, R-Durant; Michael Rogers, R-Broken Arrow; John Pfeiffer, R-Orlando; Ryan Martinez, R-Edmond; Tim Downing (R-Purcell) and Mark Lawson, R-Sapulpa, as assistant whips. Those members will be assisting state Rep. Terry O’Donnell, R-Catoosa, who was previously appointed by McCall to serve as majority whip, a position responsible for assisting the floor leader and ensuring votes are in place and members in attendance. The whips also serve as a sounding boards for members who may have concerns about upcoming legislation and helps facilitate communication between membership during the legislative session.