Libertarians and Independents

Five Libertarian candidates filed for races that will be on the ballot in Tulsa in November.

Dax Ewbank of Guthrie is running against U.S. Sen. James Lankford and Democrats Mike Workman of Tulsa and Steve Perry of Oklahoma City.

Libertarian Frank Grove is challenging State Sen. Gary Stanislawski in District 34. Democrat Thomas Ryan is also in that race.

Libertarian Zac Davis filed in a crowded race in House District 67. Three Republicans – Community Spirit publisher Tom McCloud, Scott McEachin and John T. Coisant – filed along with Democrat Lori Decter Wright. That is an open seat because Rep. Pam Peterson is term limited.

State Rep. Ken Walker, who publishes the Shepherd’s Guide (a Christian telephone book) faces fellow Republican Carol Bush plus libertarian Tamara Morton.

Libertarian Eugene Bell filed for House District 78 along with Democrats Meloyde Blancett and Dennis Hartney plus Republican Molly McKay. That seat is open because Rep. Jeannie McDaniel, a liberal Democrat, is term limited.

Five independents filed for Tulsa races.

Sean Braddy of Norman is challenging Lankford for the U.S. Senate.

David Matthew Hullum of Tulsa filed against U.S. Rep. Jim Bridenstine, who also faces fellow Republicans Evelyn Rogers and Tom Atkinson.

In District 2, U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin of Westville faces fellow Republican Jarrin Jackson of Claremore and Independent John McCarthy of Afton.

In Senate District 37, Independent Shawn W. Ketcher filed in a crowded race that includes Sen. Dan Newberry plus Republicans Brian Jackson of Sand Springs and Democrat Lloyd Snow of Sand Springs.

No opposition

Rep. Eric Proctor, a Democrat from District 77, was re-elected without opposition. Rep. Glen Mulready from District 68 was the only Tulsa area Republican from the House who did not draw an opponent.

Tulsa City Auditor Cathy Ann Criswell was re-elected without opposition. Tulsa City Councilors Karen Gilbert from District 5, Anna America from District 7 and Phil Lakin from District 8 won new two-year terms because no one filed against them.

State race

The only statewide race on the ballot is for the Oklahoma Corporation Commission. Commissioner Dana Murphy, a Republican, is seeking another term and is being challenged by State Rep. Richard Morrissette, a Democrat and a trial lawyer from Oklahoma City.

Family affair

Sen. Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa, is running for re-election in District 37 and his brother, Donald Newberry, is running for Tulsa County Court Clerk.

Rep. David Derby, R-Owasso, did not file for re-election but his father, Dale Derby, also did file. Dale Derby faces Democrat Jeri Moberly. Both are from Owasso.