OU basketball alum event

The University of Oklahoma men’s basketball program will welcome back former OU players and coaches for the sixth annual Sooner Basketball Family Weekend alumni event Aug. 26 and 27.

The weekend will be highlighted by a dinner honoring former coach Billy Tubbs, the presentation of Final Four rings to the 2015-16 team and appearances by current NBA Sooners Isaiah Cousins, Blake Griffin and Buddy Hield.

Activities scheduled for the two-day reunion are a Tip In Club Golf Tournament, a Tip In Club Dinner on the Lloyd Noble Center main floor and the Legends Alumni Game on August 27. The public is invited to attend each of the three events.

The Tip In Club Golf Tournament will be held at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club and costs $250 per individual (space is limited).

The Legends Alumni Game will tip off at noon and be open to the public free of charge (fans must enter via the east doors). Former OU players and coaches will be available for autographs on the court after the game, and concession stands will be open throughout the afternoon. Fans in attendance will once again have the opportunity to be photographed with current and former OU basketball players for the annual team schedule poster.

The Tip In Club Dinner will honor the accomplishments of Tubbs. At the helm of the Sooner program from 1980 through 1994, Tubbs won a school-record 333 games against 132 losses (.716 winning percentage). He directed OU to four Big Eight regular season championships and coached nine Sooner teams to the NCAA Tournament. His 1987-88 squad boasted a 35-4 record and made the school’s second appearance in the national championship game. Harvey Grant and Stacey King, who both earned All-America honors playing for Tubbs, will be in attendance.

The dinner will also include special recognition of last season’s run to the Final Four. Graduated members of the 2015-16 team will be in attendance to join returning Sooners in receiving their Final Four rings. The event will also include an auction benefiting the Tip In Club and Wayman Tisdale Scholarship Fund.

Some of the many additional Sooners scheduled to participate in this year’s festivities include: Mike Anderson, Alvan Adams, Steve Bajema, Chucky Barnett, Al Beal, Shawn Clark, Nate Erdmann, Eddie Evans, Terry Evans, Ted Evans, Jim Gatewood, Taylor Griffin, Garfield Heard, Skeeter Henry, Tim  Heskett, Joe Holladay, Kermit Holmes, David Johnson, Darryl “Choo” Kennedy, David Little, Scott Martin, Tim McCalister, Mike McCurdy, Tom McCurdy, Rick McNeil, Mike Mims, Eduardo Najera, Michael Neal, Tyler Neal, Kelley Newton, Bo Overton, Ted Owens, Lester Pace, Ryan Spangler, Renzi Stone, Brent Price, Bob Pritchard, William Tisdale, Tommy Tubbs, Bryatt Vann, Dinjiyl Walker and Raymond Whitley. Additional alumni may attend.