OU, OSU and TU football players make preseason lists

University of Tulsa senior D’Angelo Brewer, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and offensive lineman Orlando Brown plus Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph and wide receiver James Washington were named to the 2017 Maxwell Award Watch List, it was announced by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937. Returning Maxwell Award winner Lamar Jackson (Louisville) headlines the 2017 watch list class.

Rudolph has quarterbacked OSU to a 22-6 record as a starter and has led the Cowboys to eight victories in games in which they trailed during the second half. He led all FBS quarterbacks returning in 2017 in both interception avoidance and touchdown-to-interception ratio in 2016, and he is already the owner of no fewer than 11 school records.

Washington is one of only three Cowboys ever with 10 or more receiving touchdowns in multiple seasons, joining Justin Blackmon and Rashaun Woods; and he is one of five Oklahoma State players in history with multiple 1,000-yard seasons, joining Justin Blackmon, Rashaun Woods, Hart Lee Dykes and Adarius Bowman.

Brewer, a 5-9 running back from Tulsa’s Central High School, returns as the American Athletic Conference’s top rusher from a year ago. With his 1,435 rushing yards in 2016, Brewer was second on the league’s rushing list behind teammate James Flanders. Brewer and Flanders became only the second Tulsa running duo in school history to each rush for over 1,000 yards in the same season.

A second-team all-conference selection a year ago, Brewer has rushed for 2,400 yards and 14 touchdowns in his career to rank ninth on the school’s all-time rushing chart. He enters the 2017 season needing 1,251 yards to tie Tarrion Adams (2005-08) for the school’s all-time rushing record.

Last year, Brewer became part of NCAA history when he and his teammates became the first to have a 3,000-yard passer (Dane Evans), two 1,000-yard rushers (Brewer and James Flanders) and two 1,000-yard receivers (Josh Atkinson and Keevan Lucas).

Sooner linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo and defensive back Jordan Thomas are on the watch list for the Bednarik Award for the college defensive player of the year.