OU’s Hield listed

Four players from the Big 12 Conference  – including Buddy Hield from Oklahoma – are on the midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Iowa State’s Georges Niang and Monté Morris, Wayne Selden of Kansas and Hield represent the league, tying the Big 12 for the most representatives of any conference in the nation.

The award is presented annually by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) to the top player in college basketball. The Cyclones are the only team with two players on the list.

Hield leads the Big 12 and ranks fourth nationally with 25.7 points per game. He has led the Sooners in scoring in 11 of the team’s last 12 contests.

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List

Grayson Allen, Duke

Kris Dunn, Providence

Kahlil Felder, Oakland

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M

Sheldon McClellan, Miami

Monté Morris, Iowa State

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Gary Payton II, Oregon State

Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas

Ben Simmons, LSU

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Tyler Ullis, Kentucky

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga