Rimington list has Big 12 names

The Rimington Trophy Committee has released its 2016 Spring Watch List which includes seven Big 12 centers.

Candidates are Kyle Fuller (Baylor), Dalton Risner (K-State), Jonathan Alvarez (Oklahoma), Brad Lundblade (Oklahoma State), Austin Schlottman (TCU), Tony Morales (Texas Tech) and Tyler Orlosky (West Virginia).

The Rimington Trophy committee uses three All-America teams to determine its winner. The center with the most first team votes on the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America teams will be honored.

The Rimington Trophy is named for Dave Rimington, who was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. He became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

The 2016 award winner will be recognized January 14.