Rudolph on Manning list

Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph has been named to the Manning Award Watch List, the Sugar Bowl announced.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is also on the list.

As a sophomore, Rudolph passed for 3,770 yards and 21 touchdowns with a 62.3 completion percentage in 2015 to lead the Cowboys to a 10-3 record and an appearance in the Sugar Bowl. He averaged 290 passing yards per game and 287.3 yards of total offense per game, both of which trail only Brandon Weeden in 2010 and 2011 on Oklahoma State’s single-season list. He was honored as an Academic All-Big 12 recipient for his efforts in the classroom as well.

Created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, the Manning Award is the only postseason award to include candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

The 30-player list includes five Big 12 quarterbacks, the most of any conference. Aside from Rudolph, other Big 12 quarterbacks on the list include Mayfield , Pat Mahomes of Texas Tech, Seth Russell of Baylor and Skyler Howard of West Virginia.

The Manning Award winner will be selected by a voting panel made up of members of the national media and each of the Mannings.