Senate D-34 primary is Nov. 10th

A crowded field is competing to finish the unexpired term of former Sen. Rick Brinkley with a primary vote on Nov. 10.

Five Republicans and two Democrats have filed for Senate District 34.

The post was vacated Aug. 20 when Brinkley, R-Owasso, resigned. He has pleaded guilty to five counts of wire fraud and one count of signing a false tax return. Brinkley is accused of embezzling at least $1.8 million from his former employer, the Better Business Bureau in Tulsa. The organization has filed a lawsuit against Brinkley, who had been expected to be the next leader of the Oklahoma Senate.

The special general election is Jan. 12.

Republicans seeking the office are Mark A. Williams of Owasso, John W. Feary of Owasso, Greg D. Douglass of Collinsville, David L. McLain of Skiatook and Chuck Daugherty of Collinsville. Douglass has withdrawn.

The Democrats seeking the post are J.J. Dossett of Sperry and Lisa Franklin of Owasso.