Stoops a finalist for coach of the year


Oklahoma football coach Bob Stoops was named as one of eight finalists for the 2015 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America.

Joining Stoops as finalists for the award are Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, Houston’s Tom Herman, Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly, Stanford’s David Shaw and Temple’s Matt Ruhle.

Stoops, who won the award in 2000 after leading Oklahoma to an undefeated season and it seventh national championship, is a finalist for the fifth time in his 17-year career (2000, 2003, 2006, 2008).

The 2015 Sooners, who were ranked No. 19 in both major preseason polls, claimed their ninth Big 12 championship, all under Stoops. OU (11-1 overall, 8-1 in Big 12) rebounded from an 8-5 record in the 2014 season to finish No. 4 in the final College Football Playoff rankings to earn a spot in the Orange Bowl. The Sooners will face top-ranked and undefeated Clemson on Dec. 31 at 3 p.m. in the first national semifinal. The official presentation reception will be Jan. 9 in Scottsdale, Arizona.