Stoops is Big 12 coach of the year; OU tops all Big 12

Oklahoma, champions of the Big 12 Conference, dominated the All Big 12 selections.

Sooner coach Bob Stoops was named coach of the year in the Big 12 while nine Sooners were first-team selections. Stoops won Coach of the Year for the fifth time (2008, 2006, 2003 and 2000).

Now in his 17th season, Stoops led the Sooners to their ninth Big 12 championship this year behind an 11-1 overall record and an 8-1 mark in league play.  He has also guided Oklahoma to a berth in the College Football Playoff where the No. 4 Sooners will meet No. 1 Clemson in the Orange Bowl on Dec. 31 in Miami Gardens, Fla.

OU quarterback Baker Mayfield was named Big 12 offensive player of the year.

The other first-team picks on offense for Oklahoma were running back Samaje Perine, receiver Sterling Shepard and offensive linemen Ty Darlington and Nila Kasitati.

Perine repeated on the first team as he leads the Big 12 in rushing touchdowns (15) and is fifth in the conference in rushing yards per game (107.6). He ran for a season-high 201 yards and four touchdowns against Texas Tech and has gained at least 131 yards in each of the last three outings.

Shepard, who also repeated on the first team, ranks third in the Big 12 in both receptions per game (6.6) and receiving yards per game (100.1), while nationally he is 12th and 18th in those categories, respectively. In addition, Shepard ranks 10th in the country with 11 receiving touchdowns this year.

On defense, the first-team picks from OU were defensive lineman Charles Tapper, linebackers Dominique Alexander and Eric Striker and defensive back Zack Sanchez.

Mayfield is the fourth Oklahoma quarterback to be named Offensive Player of the Year, joining Sam Bradford (2008), two-time winner Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000).

This marks the fifth-consecutive year a quarterback has won the award. In 20 seasons, a signal-caller has been honored 16 times, including co-winners in 1999.

Mayfield ranks No. 2 nationally in yards per pass attempt (9.6) and pass efficiency rating (178.9), No. 6 in passing TDs (35) and points responsible for per game (21.0) and No. 7 in pass completion percentage (.686).

OU receiver Dede Westbrook was named offensive newcomer of the year. Westbrook is the third Oklahoma player to earn Offensive Newcomer of the Year, joining Adrian Peterson (2004) and Josh Heupel (1999). He is the seventh receiver to earn the award.

A transfer from Blinn Community College, Westbrook caught 42 passes for 674 yards and averaging 56.2 yards per game, good for second on the team in all three categories. Westbrook is tied for third on the team with four touchdown catches, while his 16.0 yards per catch rank second among those on OU’s roster with at least 10 receptions.

Oklahoma has won the most individual awards in the 20-year history of the Big 12 with 32. K-State is second (28), followed by Texas (25), Oklahoma State (18), Baylor (13), Iowa State (11), Texas Tech (8), Kansas (7), TCU (5) and West Virginia (3).

Oklahoma’s nine overall first-team selections were the most of any conference team, as were the five offensive selections and four defensive picks.

With another honoree on the second-team offense and five more on second-team defense, OU posted 15 all-conference players overall.

Baylor was second with nine overall honorees, followed by TCU with eight. Kansas State, Oklahoma State and West Virginia all had six. They were trailed by Texas Tech (4), Iowa State (2), Texas (2) and Kansas (1).

Andrew Billings of Baylor and Emmanuel Ogbah of OSU were named co-defensive players of the year.

This is the first time an Oklahoma State player has won the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Award, but OSU’s 18 individual Big 12 awards rank fourth in the conference’s 20-year history.

Ogbah was also named the 2014 Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year.

This also marks the second-straight year Ogbah has received first team honors on the All-Big 12 team and the first time the rest of the Cowboys on the list have been honored as all-conference performers.

Ogbah was one of only four players who was unanimously voted onto the first team.

Ogbah has been recognized as a USA Today All-American, a Ted Hendricks award finalist, a Walter Camp Award semifinalist, a Bednarik Award semifinalist and a Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalist.

The nation’s active leader in career sacks with 28, Ogbah also leads the Big 12 and ranks fourth nationally with 13 sacks this season, and he leads the Big 12 and ranks 14th nationally with 17.5 tackles for loss.