Teacher of the year nominations

TPS is accepting nominations for the 2017 district teacher of the year.

“The 2017 Tulsa Teacher of the Year will be someone who works tirelessly to ensure that Tulsa students engage in their education, own their learning, and feel accepted and supported in our schools,” said Gist. “We are looking for a dedicated educator who exemplifies our core values of equity, character, excellence, team, and joy in his or her work with everyone in the Tulsa Public Schools family.”

Tulsans can submit Teacher of the Year candidates online at www.tulsaschools.org/TeacheroftheYear. Nominations must be submitted by November 18. “We encourage students, parents, teachers, and community members to nominate teachers who embody these core values and create exceptional learning experiences every day,” said Gist.

All pre-kindergarten through 12th grade teachers in state-accredited schools are eligible for nomination.

Broken Arrow nominations

Broken Arrow Public Schools (BAPS) has announced its 2017-18 Site Teachers of the Year, each of whom will be considered for District Teacher of the Year to be announced at the annual Star Awards Gala this spring.

“Our district employs some of the most talented and innovative educators in the state,” BAPS Superintendent Janet Dunlop said. “These 28 educators were carefully selected by their colleagues for exemplifying an incredible commitment to serving our students. To each of the winners, thank you for sharing your passion for teaching with Broken Arrow Public Schools.”

Site Teachers of the Year will submit a portfolio to a committee composed of teachers, administrators and previous Teachers of the Year.

“As a committee, we meet to thoroughly evaluate each portfolio, conduct interviews and select the best candidate for District Teacher of the Year,” BAPS Executive Director of Elementary Education Jennifer Peterson said. “Although the process is quite rigorous, it allows us to not only honor outstanding educators in our district but also helps all of our educators strive to be the best they can be for the benefit of our students.”

Those nominees are:

Arrow Springs ECC Becky Rogalski
Aspen Creek ECC Micah Perkins
Creekwood ECC Heather Goodacre
Park Lane ECC Elizabeth Wharton
Arrowhead Elementary Robyn Carey
Aspen Creek Elementary Chuck Horstman
Country Lane Primary Krystal Haley
Country Lane Intermediate Kathy Williams
Creekwood Elementary Judi Mulcahy
Highland Park Elementary Ashley Hefley
Leisure Park Elementary Stacy Ley
Liberty Elementary Kimberly Slater
Lynn Wood Elementary Judy Mullins
Oak Crest Elementary Crystal Taylor
Rhoades Elementary Gina Scott
Spring Creek Elementary Karla Cox
Timber Ridge Elementary Elizabeth Cockrum
Vandever Elementary Jennifer Hinkle
Wolf Creek Elementary Mallory Davis
Centennial Middle School Ruth Biggs
Childers Middle School Cyndi Jackson
Oliver Middle School Debra Carroll
Oneta Ridge Middle School Stefanie Cottrell
Sequoyah Middle School Gayle Hahn
Freshman Academy Arica Loyd
Broken Arrow High School Shelly Swisher and Jill Taylor
Broken Arrow Options Academy Ashley Tselee

Union teacher nominations

The list of Union School District 2017-2018 Site Teachers of the Year has been announced. The District Teacher of the Year will be announced during a formal reception this winter at the Union Performing Arts Center at Union High School.

The Site Teachers of the Year are:

Andersen Elementary Kara Minton Art
Boevers Elementary Lydia Leslie fifth grade
Cedar Ridge Elementary Cindy Forbis first grade
Clark Elementary Teresa Besses counselor
Darnaby Elementary Kelly Buck counselor
Grove Elementary Paola Puleo third grade
Jarman Elementary Becca Bearden third grade
Jefferson Elementary Lisa Harper reading specialist
McAuliffe Elementary Kassie Alexander physical education
Moore Elementary Beth Grounds multi-age first/second grade
Ellen Ochoa Elementary Taya Oelze first grade
Peters Elementary Andree Lira fifth grade
Rosa Parks Elementary Katie Cealka art
Rosa Parks Early Childhood Education Center Jillian King
6th Grade Center Melodie Cole language arts
7th Grade Center Justin Vannest math
8th Grade Center Paula Ontko special education
9th Grade Center Travis Webb business
Union High School Philippa Kelly social studies
Alternative School Zondra Clunn English