TU picked No. 4 in the West Division

A media poll picked Houston to win the American Athletic Conference and has Tulsa in fourth in the competition West Division.

Preseason Media Picks

AAC Champion – Houston

East Division

  1. South Florida
  2. Temple
  3. Cincinnati
  4. Connecticut
  5. East Carolina
  6. Central Florida

West Division

  1. Houston
  2. Navy
  3. Memphis
  4. Tulsa
  5. SMU
  6. Tulane

Tulsa made a substantial turnaround in Philip Montgomery’s first year as head coach in 2015, improving by four wins from the previous season and reaching the Camping World Independence Bowl. Tulsa returns six starters from an offense that ranked 13th nationally with 502.8 yards per game, including quarterback Dane Evans, who was The American’s passing leader in 2015 (332.5 ypg).

The No. 13 Houston Cougars have been selected as the favorite to repeat as the American Athletic Conference champion as the Cougars were the overwhelming choice in the league’s 2016 preseason media poll.

The Cougars received 27 of a possible 30 votes to win the league title and was the unanimous pick to win The American’s West Division crown.

USF was the media’s choice in the East Division and Temple received nine first-place votes. Cincinnati had six first-place votes in the East Division balloting.

Houston finished the 2015 season with a 13-1 overall record and a 7-1 mark in the conference play as the Cougars tied for the West Division title before winning the first American Athletic Conference Football Championship.