Vote produced a new mayor and a runoff

Tulsa got a new mayor, a state representative lost and several first-time candidates will advance to a runoff.

The big news of the June 28 primary was the election of City Councilor G.T. Bynum over incumbent Mayor Dewey Bartlett.

In the nonpartisan election, Bynum was helped tremendously by support from Democrats. Bynum and Bartlett are both registered Republicans.

“The citizens of Tulsa sent a message, not just locally but all across the country,” Bynum said. “For all the people who said you can’t win a campaign by running a positive campaign, for all the people who say young people don’t vote, for all who say that partisanship rules the day, that there is no way we can find common ground between parties, between parts of our community and pull together, they said we couldn’t do it but we did.”

Bynum got 32,129 votes (55 percent), Bartlett got 22,354 (39 percent), Tom McCay got 1,118 votes, Lawrence Kirkpatrick got 1,030 votes and Paul Tay got 757 votes.

“The seven years in this office was the greatest experience I ever had,” Bartlett said. “It’s simply incredible when tens of thousands of people have the confidence they can put in me to help lead, to help provide leadership down this path. We’ve accomplished so much.”

U.S. Reps. Jim Bridenstine and Markwayne Mullin had easy victories in Republican primaries. Bridenstine got 80 percent of the vote even though he was outspent by newcomer Tom Atkinson. Independent David Hullum has withdrawn so Bridenstine is automatically re-elected.

Mullin got 63 percent of the vote and will face Democrat Joshua Harris-Till on November 8.

There will be a runoff election on August 23 that includes races for the State House, State Senate and Tulsa County Court Clerk.

Oklahoma Senate

Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow, and Sen. Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa, easily won their Republican primaries Tuesday.

In District 33, Dahm got 3,991 votes (64 percent) and Larry Curtis got 1,654 votes (26 percent). Patrick Pershing got only 577 votes. Democrat Kimberly Fobbs got 1,187 votes to win the Democrat primary over Randal Burris with 943 votes. Fobbs will face Dahm in November.

In District 37, Newberry got 4,012 votes (69 percent), easily outdistancing Brian Jackson (1,175 votes, 20 percent) and Paula Patterson (565 votes).

Former Sand Springs School Superintendent Lloyd Snow won the Democrat primary with 2,503 votes (77 percent). Cory Gage got 421 votes and Andrew Nutter got 325 votes.

Newberry faces Snow in November.

Two open Senate seats in Tulsa County resulted in runoff elections

In District 39, former Tulsa University coach Dave Rader got 3,760 votes (40 percent) and will face former OK-SAFE Executive Director Amanda Teegarden in the runoff. Teegarden got 2,313 votes (25 percent) and edged past Alan Staab, who had 2,001 votes (24 percent). Rick Poplin got 928 votes in that GOP primary.

The winner between Rader and Teegarden will face Democrat John Waldron in November. That seat is open because Sen. Brian Crain is term limited.

In District 25, Bixby School Board member Lisa Kramer got 3,572 votes (35 percent) and will face Joe Newhouse, who got 2,987 votes (29 percent) in a runoff in August. Bob Jack got 2,259 votes (22 percent) and Craig Murray got 1,458 votes (14 percent).

The winner in the District 25 runoff will face Democrat Robert Founds in November. That seat is open because Sen. Mike Mazzei is term limited.

Oklahoma House

Local attorney Scott McEachin got 2,381 votes (40 percent to edge Community Spirit publisher Tom McCloud, who got 2,053 votes (35 percent) in the Republican primary for House District 67. Teacher John Croisant got 1,303 votes (25 percent).

McEachin will face McCloud in August and the winner will face Democrat Lori Decker Wright and Libertarian Zac Davis. That seat is open because Rep. Pam Peterson is term limited.

Apart from the mayor’s race, perhaps the biggest upset was in the Republican primary in House District 70. Rep. Ken Walker got 2,549 votes (48 percent) and was edged by newcomer Carol Bush, who got 2,704 votes (52 percent). Bush will face Democrat Joe Jennings and Libertarian Tamara Morton in the November election.

County Runoff Races

Don Newberry, who works in the county assessor’s office, will face fellow Republican Ron Phillips, who works in the county court clerk’s office, in the August 23 runoff for Tulsa County court clerk. Newberry got 15,858 votes (35 percent) while Phillips got 14,928 (33 percent). A third candidate, Mary Atkinson, got 14,313 votes (32 percent).

The winner will face Democrat John Andrew in November.

Republican Vic Regalado, who won a special election in April, won the GOP primary for Tulsa County sheriff. Regalado got 31,766 votes (64 percent) and his closest challenger was Luke Sherman with 14,253 (29 percent). Russell Crow got 3,154 votes (7 percent).

Regalado will have a rematch with Democrat Rex Berry in November. Berry got 18,925 votes (67 percent) to beat Arthur Jackson with 8,725 votes (33 percent) in the Democrat primary for sheriff.

Tulsa County Commissioner Karen Keith easily won the Democrat primary in District 2 with 10,464 (82 percent) over Deanna Vincent with 2,305 voters (18 percent).

Keith will face Republican Josh Turley, who edged Jonathan Grable. Turley had 6,562 votes (53 percent) and Grable had 5,452 votes (47 percent).

In the race for Tulsa County clerk, Michael Willis beat Nancy Rothman in the Republican primary. Willis had 26,866 votes (59 percent) and Rothman had 18,427 votes (41 percent).

Since no Democrat filed, Willis was elected Tulsa County Clerk and he replaced Pat Key.

City Council

In the nonpartisan city council elections, District 3 Councilor David Patrick, District 4 Councilor Blake Ewing and District 6 Councilor Connie Dodson all won re-election.

August 23 Runoff

State Senate District 25

Lisa Kramer vs. Joe Newhouse

State Senate District 39

Dave Rader vs. Amanda Teegarden

State House District 67

Scott McEachin vs. Tom McCloud

Tulsa County Court Clerk

Donald Newberry vs. Ron Phillips